Choosing a Spatial Reference System

1. What spatial reference system(s) do you use for your field data, and why?
  2. Will you change the SRS you use based on what you’ve learned in this module?
1 Like

I’m a student who has not done much work with collecting location coordinates etc. So I don’t know of any spatial reference system etc. This module did however give me insights to watch out for the types of SRS I use in the future when I learn more about field work data collection etc.

1 Like

HI,

I am still at the confused stage of understanding the difference between CRS and SRS. I’m based in New Zealand and use Long-lats for co-ordinate references and use NZGD 2000 New zealand traverse mercator or NZGD 2000 wellington circuit. I use this as it enables me to plot my vector data (Penguin nestboxes and pest traps) on there from csv files.

As of now i was only known about the WGS84 EPSG 4326 CRS which i was using for my field GPS data (Lat - Long coordinate type) apart from this i haven’t explored much in this due to my limited knowledge about the use of GIS. But this module has really gave me a boost in understanding about the basics of CRS/SRS and their uses as per the suitability and the type of field data coordinate.

We use the standard WGS84 as we’re in the UK but in the past I’ve used a vairety of different ones as I was working in Canada, South Africa and Australia. Will need to go and refresh my memory. We also tend to use grid references rather than lat/long coords at work - not entirely sure why so I might try and find out and have a deeper discussion about that too

1 Like

I have been using WGS 84. So far there was no need to use other SRS yet. Also, with my limited knowledge in GIS, I have not explored other SRS. However, this module provides a fresh understanding on how maps are projected and there may come a time that we need to use other SRS.